SCRA Exam 2021 – Eligibility Criteria, Exam Pattern & Syllabus, Selection Process, Fee

By | November 18, 2020
SCRA Exam - Eligibility, Exam Pattern & Syllabus, Selection Process

The Railway Entrance exam is held every year to recruit candidates into the Indian Railways.

This exam is held every year usually in the month of august to recruit candidates as the Special Class Railway Apprentices or most commonly known as SCRA.

This exam is conducted mainly for Railway service recruitment. Candidates who are interested in pursuing a career in the Indian Railways can appear for this exam.

Let’s read Railway Entrance SCRA Exam Highlights.

Exam Name Union Public Service Commission Special Class Railway Apprentice
Level of exam National
Mode of Test Online or Offline
Frequency of SCRA Exam Once a year
Eligibility Candidates should pass 10+2 Class from a recognized Board/University
Conducting Authority UPSC
Total marks(Written Test) 600 marks
Total marks(Personality Test) 200 marks
Negative Marking No Negative marks
Age Limit 17-21 Years

Above table shows important points about the UPSC SCRA 2021 Exam.

Eligibility for SCRA 2021


First and foremost Railway Entrance Exam is applicable only for citizens of India. Subject of Nepal, Bhutan or refugee of Tibet whose family is settled in India since 1962, January 1st or individuals migrated to the pre determined list of countries, which are of Indian origin.


To appear for Railway Entrance Exam the candidate must be within the age group of 17 to 20 years as of August on the year of examination.

However there are relations in the upper age limit for the scheduled casts, Scheduled Tribes and Other Backward Classes and certain other categories as denoted by the Government of India.

The maximum age is relaxed by five years for scheduled caste and scheduled tribe candidates and three years in case of other backward classes.

Educational Qualification

As far as educational qualification is concerned, the candidate should have secured first or second division in the Intermediate or any examination that is equivalent to the Intermediate of a Board or University which is recognized by the Government of India.

It is mandatory that the student must have studies Mathematics and at least physics or chemistry as one of the subjects for the examination.

Candidates who have passed their higher secondary exam with a first or second division and with Mathematics and at least Physics and Chemistry as subjects can also appear for this exam.

Other than this, the students who are graduates with Mathematics and at least Physics or Chemistry as their subjects in degree can apply for the examination.

Application Fee


Fee Amount

For General/OBC Candidates Rs 100/-
For SC/ST/Ph.D./Female candidates Nil

UPSC SCRA Exam Pattern

The Exam will be conducted in two Phases i.e., Phase 1 & Phase 2.

Phase 1 of Special Class Railway Apprentice Exam

Subjects Duration


Physical Science

2 Hours 200


2 Hours


General Knowledge and  Ability 2 Hours


Phase 2 of Special Class Railway Apprentice Exam

Subjects Duration


Personality Test

2 Hours


UPSC SCRA Exam Pattern

Check Here -> All Govt Exam Syllabus and Exam Pattern

Exam Schedule

There are two parts to the Railway Entrance Exam, the written exam is of a maximum of 600 marks with is the General Ability test which includes English, General Knowledge and Psychological test and test in Physical sciences which includes Physics and Chemistry and the last paper in Mathematics.

The part two of the exam consists of the personality test which is the maximum of 200 marks. Only the students who have cleared the written exam are eligible to take up this exam.

Post the Railway Entrance Exam the final results are published and are available online. The selected candidates are intimated of the further proceedings.

Selection Process

  • Candidates will be selected based on the performance in the Written Examination conducted by UPSC.
  • Qualified candidates will be called for Personality Test.
  • Those selected in the Personality Test have to attend the Interview and Document Verification process.


The previous year cut off is given below:

Category Cut-off Marks (out of 600)
General 365
OBC 293
SC 246
ST 180
PH 203

SCRA Exam Other Details

Right now we have not any Official news about this exam like when it is conducted. After 2015 UPSC has stopped the SCRA ExaminationWe are still hope for UPSC conduct Special Class Railway Apprentice (SCRA) in 2021.

Thank you for reading SCRA Exam eligibility criteria, exam pattern and syllabus, application fee, selection process and previous year cut-off marks. If you have any questions, please do comment below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *